Daily Prompt: Revisionist History

Today daily prompt is:

Go back in time to an event you think could have played out differently for you. Let alternate history have its moment: tell us what could, would or should have happened?

ph: weheartit

If there’s one thing I desperately want to change is my college major. Taking up a science major in one of the biggest university in my country wasn’t a guarantee I’ll be in love with it and the environment. I have to admit I am not into my major until I was faced to do last essay for me able to graduate. I was major in soil science under agriculture department which make me learn all the sowing, digging, fertilizing, and so forth.

I should take something lighter or something interest me the most but unstable thoughts issues, money issues and relationship issues were the problem I didn’t let myself have another option on which major I’d like to take and which university I wanted to go to. If I could I’d like taking major in literature and language or culture and tourism, something to die for. So I could do au-pair if I took French or became an English teacher if I took English major or traveled around the world to dive in different culture of different countries.

Even if I couldn’t change my major, I’d like myself to learn more so I would get a better GPA and let me have another opportunities on having scholarship. I was too lost and had to do a major I knew nothing about drag me out of the subject, none of the subject I get an A except for English and PE (yes my college still have PE subject for freshmen, sucks isn’t it?). After the humiliation I got from my major I faced another one from my GPA. At first year I barely went to attend any subject, most of the time-If I wasn’t absence-I’d be sleeping in the class or reading pile of comics I had inside my bag. Devastating that even myself in no proud of it nor other of people. I could do better at that time, but I didn’t.

But If I was offered a do-over I’d probably still gonna stick in that university and rooting on that major. I found my best-friends there and joined an international organization that made me able to have exchange experience and knowledge and able to meet other student from other countries. Besides through the major I learned and become aware of environmental issues which is good.

This moment-I won’t say it a mistakes-still haunted me. I was struggling to do a job where I can use my ability in English or any ability I possessed but the lack of self-esteem and the doubt I had for myself, I was frighten to take a job as an English teacher or a translator or a freelance writer. Though I wanted to learn another foreign language, I doubt myself that it’ll have a benefit for me. I don’t know.

I didn’t want a do-over but I hoped I could fix the present for the future.

.Cheers.

3 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Revisionist History

  1. Esther Drummer

    If I do continue my studies in a university, I’ll take nothing other than a language major, or like you so rightly put it- something I’d die for :)
    If I don’t, however, that’s just gonna lead me somewhere else, no?

    Loved your post.

Leave a Reply

