Book Review: Slammed & Point Of Retreat

Slammed. #1

Following the unexpected death of her father, 18-year-old Layken is forced to be the rock for both her mother and younger brother. Outwardly, she appears resilient and tenacious, but inwardly, she’s losing hope.
Enter Will Cooper: The attractive, 21-year-old new neighbor with an intriguing passion for slam poetry and a unique sense of humor. Within days of their introduction, Will and Layken form an intense emotional connection, leaving Layken with a renewed sense of hope.
Not long after an intense, heart-stopping first date, they are slammed to the core when a shocking revelation forces their new relationship to a sudden halt. Daily interactions become impossibly painful as they struggle to find a balance between the feelings that pull them together, and the secret that keeps them apart.

Point of Retreat#2

Hardships and heartache brought them together…now it will tear them apart.

Layken and Will have proved their love can get them through anything; until someone from Will’s past re-emerges, leaving Layken questioning the very foundation on which their relationship was built. Will is forced to face the ultimate challenge…how to prove his love for a girl who refuses to stop ‘carving pumpkins.

 

This book is

Butterflying Bemazing!!!

From all the books that I’ve marathonly read this past couple of months. Slammed and Point Of Retreat by Coleen Hoover that took my breath away. I am speechless and I don’t know what to review. Nothing in this book I don’t love.

Both books offered you different story with full romance, poetry, responsibilities, laughs, tears and all in one package.  I love every relationship in this book is very inspiring: Eddie-Layken, Will-Caulder, Layken-Kell, Eddie-Gavin, Layken’s mom, and off course Layken-Will. From all the character I’ve been read, Will Cooper is someone I want to be real the most. I’m head over heel in love with him. I want to be loved by Will-how he loved Layken, Caulder, Kell and Layken’s mom. I respect Will for his choice of life, for choose Caulder over his school and more for choosing Layken over everything. Better Than Third.

“And life definitely doesn’t want me|To just let it tell me|that the girl I met|The beautiful, amazing, strong, resilient girl|That I fell so hard for|Should only come in third

Life knows|Life is trying to tell me|That the girl I love|The girl I fell|So hard for?|There’s room for her in first.

I’m putting her first.”

 and for Layken no words I can give I’ve through what she’s been though so yes I understood if she’s a little bit frustrating .

 If ever Will is exist…..

I love the slam poetry. Thank you Colleen Hoover for introducing me to slam poetry. Knowing you can write a poetry without rules it’s help me out to write more poetry but I guess I still to read more about it. The slam poetry in here is beautiful and how Will use slam poetry to show Layken about who he is is brilliant (Will took Layken to watch slam in their first date,sweet!!!)

The blood relationship between Layken-Kell and Will-Caulder inspired me in many ways. It showed you as long they have each other anything doesn’t matter. Kell and Caulder-and their innocence to face the hardship they had-is crazy and hilarious and heart-warming. How cool is Kell knowing he’s mother dying from lung cancer make me realize being an adult is sucks.

Layken’s mom. Ouuugh I hate crying for this. But I did. I could feel the loss of Lake’s mother. I love how her mother prepared the life (of Layken and Kell) after her death. And the Christmas gift and the quote star and the wedding ring is very gut-wrenching. Touched and hurt.

The best friends like Eddie, Gavin and that-little-thing Kiersten is wonderful. I want to move into their neighborhood and be a part of their life.

This book is affected me in a lot of way. I love it I love it I love it. I lost my mother too so I able to feel the pain of not having it and the struggle that need came along after. Though my father still alive but I live apart from him. I wish I could have strength like Will and Layken had. I regret one thing now, I couldn’t take care my brothers like they did. I never think it’s possible. It’s possible, isn’t it?

Happy Reading.

.Cheers.

Leave a Reply

