Why I Didn’t Gain Weight

Why I didn’t gain weight no matter how hard I try.

Yupe. You read it right. I hardly gain weight. It’s been more than 5 years that my weight stuck in the same number. I was considered thin for a 5’2″ I weight 45 kilos. My ideal weight range between 50 t0 55 and I didn’t use particular chart I was just reading through all the different weight chart and the conclusion. In the end it didn’t matter if I can’t gain even a kilo.

I’ve people talk good and bad stuff about my weight which mostly I didn’t care but sometimes it disturbed me. People thought I didn’t eat or I sick or whatever you want to imagine or perhaps they just jelaous. There’s truth that perhaps people didn’t acknowledge.

First, I inherited my mother and father genetics. She was slim even after having three child she weight 55 kilos for a 5’4″. It happened to all my brothers and mostly most of my family members too they are slender. So folks that’s partly when my slim-ness came from. Lucky me! Yeay…

Second, probably this one was what people didn’t know the most: lifestyle. Some people probably saw me like to eat in a large portions. True. But that time I was consider a ‘cheating day’ for people who on diet. Truthfully I didn’t snack, and if I snack it wasn’t high unhealthy kind of food so no fries no chips no ice cream no chocolate no milkshake no coffee with whipped cream no anything deep-fried. I prefer peanut butter with wheat whole bread or steamed sweet potato as snack to keep my stomach full for quite a long time. I ate 5-6 times a day in moderate portions of food a day with healthy snack in between. I prefer lots of veggie that meat and I didn’t gorge myself on food usually I stop eating before I even feel full.

Third, I moved about quite a lot. I’m an active and kinesthetic kind of person. Laying down and sleeping all day wasn’t my forte. I always find something I want to do that require moving. Yupe, you read it right sometimes I move furniture or redecorating my bedroom or doing a lot of handy stuff at home all by maaaiiiseeeelllf. I prefer looooong walking or biking rather than take a public transportation to go to some place. I used to walk for an hour or so when I was single because I prefer it that way where people maybe find walking as exhausting. Things that people in my country rarely do because they thought the government didn’t provide decent sidewalk. To me as long as I still have two feet to walk I didn’t give a damn care where should I walk.

It seems that I didn’t try hard to gain but what can I say as long as I am healthy, I didn’t really care what people think. Being slender is just a bonus. Even now when I was a mother of one I weight the same as when I was just before pregnant. What even worse is if I tried to skip a meal or two or when I sick and have no appetite then it’ll just lose two to three kilos. It was such a nightmare. You might want to change the way you eat if you want to lose some kilos but for me just love yourself enough to make yourself healthy rather than appear pretty.

Healthy is sexy.

Edit (34)
This is me almost 10 years ago. Nothing changed much.

.Cheers.

 

4 thoughts on “Why I Didn’t Gain Weight”

  1. Hello, this is a topic of interest to me but i rarely get to discuss it. I too am 5’2″ and have weighed about 43-48 k since i was 13.
    I’m now in my early 30s.
    I eat a lot but i’m a vegetarian and i walk a lot too, i can’t ever sit still.
    I always want to talk about how great it is that i can eat so many things and not gain weight, but i never do because i don’t want my friends to feel bad.

  2. I know how you feel…It is great to not have to worry about weight when u feel u want to eat a lot I rarely talk about my weight because ppl just wouldnt understand. Am not a vegetarian but I dont eat a lot of meat. Any vegetarian recipe you can recommend to me?

  3. I’m not a good cook but vegetarian lasagna is pretty easy. Everyone likes it. I boil the veggies first, cauliflower, carrots, corn, etc. then use 3 cheeses. Usually monterey jack, mozarella, and one of those fancy gourmet cheeses. Top it with a homemade sauce.

Leave a Reply

